Why is no one competing with airbnb?

Lyft just got another round of funding, some if coming from none other than Carl Icahn. While Lyft pales in comparison to Uber there is definite competition and it seems several other competitors that are either country or city specific. It got me to thinking, is any competing with airbnb?

I realize hotels are competing with airbnb. However, they aren’t competing directly like Lyft vs. Uber. Are the barriers of entry to high? Do they too much of a moat around their business or too much market penetration for someone to enter the market? Is there not enough of a market there for more than one large player?

I lot of questions around a topic that I’m asking when I dont really have great answers. This is what I’ve been thinking about recently.

Leave a comment